Monster

Early on in my job search, I put my resume on Monster – I knew it wasn’t a great resource, but it seemed like a logical step. I figured it couldn’t hurt to have my information on one more job board. Who knows? I might even get a lucky phone call.

Turns out, from Monster alone, I have received no less than twenty “job offers” in the last few months. None of them were careers I would consider accepting – all of them were 100% commission based, and at least half of them claimed to have found me through a “targeted search.” That’s weird… I don’t remember putting “I sell health insurance” on my resume. Let me check it.

Nope, the words health + insurance are nowhere to be found.

While these emails are annoying and spammy, they can serve as a little pick me up in the midst of a discouraging job search. Even though I know these aren’t positions I am willing to get into, or have any interest in, it’s kind of nice hearing that I’ve been “selected” to sell an organization’s prized product.

Guess that’s why my resume is still on Monster somewhere.

Have you received these emails? Do they serve any purpose – or are they just frustrating messages taking up room in your inbox?

9 thoughts on “Monster

  1. I think Career Builder has by far been the worst spammer. I get them from Monster too. Many are very evasive about their “job offer”. Of course, Monster and Career Builder are becoming more and more useless each day because of all the scam jobs that are posted as well. Elance has a lot of that going on too.

    It is a shame because at one point, these were all very reliable services. Now it is all about making a buck.

    The best so far has been LinkedIn. I am amazed though at how many low end jobs for bank tellers are listed in my area… over 40 the other day for the same bank. Each ad is supposedly $100 each. LinkedIn does not seem like a likely place to recruit a bank teller. But what do I know!

    In the end, I could do without the spam. Gets in the way of the real search. Networking is the best option in my opinion. Combined with a good contact list to reach out to.

  2. I mostly get those 100% commission emails a lot. I also do get a 3 or 4 calls from various recruiters that outsource contracting positions for such companies as AT&T. (I always take time to go through with these applications, but I have never received a call back on these contract positions.) I always ask the recruiters where they found my Resume. About half find it on Monster and the other half on Careerbuilder.

  3. I completely agree about LinkedIn being the best online resource, Alex. Being able to collaborate with others in groups and have a relevant job search tool has been incredible. I think this is something a lot of young professionals under-utilize, but it does seem to be growing. However, networking IS definitely the best option – once you get started, it is truly surprising how quickly your connections grow, along with the opportunities that are sent your way.

    Thanks for the feedback!

  4. Erica, I feel your pain. I made the decision to “go solo” over 25 years ago and have never looked back. I owned and operated a full service ad agency in the 80’s. I was an amazing time, then this little company up in Cupertino turned that world upside down.

    I divested myself of the agency and have been a one-man-shop ever since. Pressure? Sure. Every month almost. But there’s a lot to be said for being diligent, focusing on the work and trusting that the talents you’ve been given are there for a reason.

    Respect them. Be a good steward of them. Never give them away cheaply.

    I’ve “made my nut” every month for almost three decades, I see no reason why you shouldn’t be able to do the same… and likely a whole lot more.

  5. I get those kinds of emails from Career Builder from time to time. I think my resume is also probably still up at Monster (from eons ago). I find the emails annoying: sometimes they can get your hopes up, then you realize it’s just a spammy come-on that’s totally irrelevant.

  6. As someone who put out job postings on the job boards, I found that HotJobs delivered the least qualified candidates – people who applied for every job out there and were not qualified for any of them. A few years ago, CareerBuilder was actually pretty good. I found some good candidates there.

Leave a Reply

