Wakened Wednesday

Take rest; a field that has rested gives a bountiful crop.  – Ovid

The hardest thing to remember during stressful times is to take a breath and remove yourself from the situation. At least that’s the hardest thing for me to remember.

As a graduating senior (in 3 weeks, SCARY!) and someone that currently has two internships and looking at more, I have a lot on my plate; and when that happens to me, I tend to forget how helpful a prioritized to-do list can be. When I’m stressed out, I don’t take a breath and just plan out what to do next; I work on one task for ten minutes, then realize I have something else to do, and switch modes. And then I realize that I’m getting nowhere, make a list, pay more attention to what my iCal says is important, and concentrate on one task at a time. (This is something that I am actively trying to change about myself, and I think I’m making progress!)

Once I have been productive for a little while, it is much easier to watch a re-run of Grey’s Anatomy and then get back to work after giving my mind a 45 minute rest. This quote holds some real truth, a mind that has rested does give much clearer, more thought provoking work. Pulling all-nighters and turning to major caffeine inducement is not always the answer, even for a college girl.

Everyone is stressed. So this Wednesday, take a five minute break to just clear your mind before moving onto your next task. The work you provide will be much more beneficial in the long run. This is a wonderful trick that I use when I’m really crunched for time: http://www.donothingfor2minutes.com/ 

Leave a Reply

