Do You Measure Up?

There has been a lot (and I mean a LOT) of talk about the new Klout measurements this week. It’s almost as big as the Netflix outrage!

People are upset, mad, annoyed, even sad that their Klout scores have dropped a few points on the new system. Americans are finding out that they have less klout than they thought. Turns out, tweeting about your dog’s birthday doesn’t raise your influence among your peers after all. What a blow to the ego!

Checking your Klout profile is certainly addicting; I’m not saying I’m innocent in this movement. I was more than a little confused when I checked my Klout and the website told me my score had raised several points in the last 30 days, but it was actually lower than when I last checked it. I know I’m not the only person that checks their Klout score to see if it has gone up after a couple Twitter chats – which generally mean tons of re-tweets and new followers.

But over all, I don’t think the new Klout system is that bad. I would rather know how influential I actually am to my Twitter followers and Facebook friends (and WordPress followers, and last.fm friends, among other measurements…) than be disillusioned and think that people care about what I have to say when I’m not even on their radar.

Klout has tried to change the social media game, and they succeeded for a little while – but is this week’s outrage enough for people to stop checking their Klout scores? It will be really interesting to watch what comes out of this.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Do You Measure Up?

  1. I don’t think Klout et al are a permanent fixture of the social media landscape. Klout thinks it is selling a solution when they really have a feature. Most social media monitoring tools of any worth have in them a way of determining salience, aka influence. Most search engines will get there soon too. This is where this “feature” belongs, in a context that has some value.

    I agree too that the secret sauce algorithms are plainly faulty, but then the validity of all these systems is suspect — when it comes down to it, what is “influence” anyway???

    Finally, there’s a bigger issue with Klout – they may be measuring the wrong things entirely. Individuals alone only rarely make a difference; social media is a collective phenomenon and it is the crowd — or often the mob — that matter:

    http://ianbruce.blogspot.com/2011/11/klout-qwikster-and-mob-marketing.html

    Thanks again, great post.

  2. I completely agree that Klout won’t be around for much longer, especially at this rate. It will be exciting to see search engines develop this feature, have you heard anything more about that?

    You raise a really great question: What is influence? And why are we so addicted to finding out?

    Thanks for the feedback, I will check out your post.

Leave a Reply

